Joseph of Arimathea

Today, I attended the church which told me that, because I am bisexual and affirming of non-normative gender and sexual orientation, I would not be allowed to play music in their worship band if I decided to return from the break I took to mourn the deaths of my grandmother and great grandmother.

The speaker discussed Joseph of Arimathea, who was a Saducee, or political/religious leader. Joseph, being a Saducee, had both the respect of the religious community and an incredible amount of wealth. He secretly followed Jesus, keeping his support of the radical rabbi quiet for fear of his fellow leaders. He eventually risked the respect of his peers to take Jesus’ body to be buried.

I am Joseph of Arimathea.

I revealed my identity as an LGBT-affirming non-heterosexual evangelical Christian, risking my reputation within the Church and potential careers in churches. I lost everything, and the Church abandoned me.

It is interesting that I heard about this man from the church which took away my platforms for not conforming to their idea of what a Christ-follower should look like.

I did something bold, and I was destroyed for it.

The Scriptures say that God will not break a bruised reed, nor snuff out a smoldering wick.

I have been broken; I have been snuffed out. God did not do those things–man did.

It is interesting that we say, “Follow Jesus,” when we really mean, “Agree with us, or we’ll treat you as inferior.”

Woe to you, Pharisees.

Leave a Reply

