Loyal subjects, royal souls

One of my all-time favorite songs is called “Who Can Compare to You” by Bethel feat. Matt Stinton, from their newly released album, We Will Not Be Shaken.

W H O  C A N  C O M P A R E  T O  Y O U

//

W H O  R U L E S  M Y  H E A R T  T H E  W A Y  Y O U  D O

These words set me on fire, and I wish I could explain why they are so significant to me, but it is difficult, because they sound oppressive. To say that someone besides me rules my heart seems profane–especially someone who holds such incredible power over me to begin with.

I have been in relationships in which the other person has ruled my heart, and it has been torture. My life becomes fear, and I tremble at each mistake I make, afraid I will be punished or abandoned for my transgression. Often, I am.

Jesus only rules my heart when I give him permission, because he is perfect in his benevolence. Others take control, and micromanage, and humiliate, and manipulate.

These words, “Who rules my heart the way you do?” hit my heart with a spirit of empowerment. At the same moment he begins to rule my heart, my heart becomes royalty. At the same moment he begins to rule my heart, I become powerful.

Oh, how difficult this is to describe, because it sounds like bondage, not freedom.

Bondage is submitting to human authority above Godly authority.
Bondage is resisting human authority above submitting to Godly authority.
Bondage is submitting to religious authority above the authority of the crucified Christ.
Bondage is resisting the religious authority above the authority of the crucified Christ.

Freedom is in following Jesus and doing whatever the hell he tells us to do.

Even if that means we come out of the closet.
Even if that means we affirm same-sex marriage.
Even if that means we love those that hate us for coming out of the closet and affirming same-sex marriage.
Even if that means we continue to call the people that hate us, and spit on us, and fling insults at us our brothers and sisters.
Even if that means everyone in the entire world–Christian and secular–hates us for the rest of our lives.

Submitting to the benevolent King of all created things, Conqueror of Death itself, brings freedom from everything.

It is a lasting freedom–one that can only be relinquished by our own choosing.

Leave a Reply

