Ecumenical Rather Than Sectional

“Now, let me suggest first that if we are to have peace on Earth, our loyalties must become ecumenical rather than sectional. No individual can live alone, no nation can live alone, and as long as we try, the more we are going to have war in this world.

The judgment of God is upon us, and we must either learn to live together as brothers, or we’re all going to perish together as fools.”

– Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

My grandmother recently posted this on her Facebook page:

Untitled

Those that know me and those that know my grandmother know why this brought tears to my eyes. My cousin–in a same-sex marriage herself–texted me to express her happiness over the fact that our grandmother had referred to my uncle’s partner as her son.

I was equally as elated as she was. When I read the words “sons,” and “both,” a confusing mix of joy and heartache consumed me. Memories of years spent wondering if my family could love me and love who I loved were drowned in those two words: “sons” and “both.”

The analytical side of me says, But they still don’t agree with it, and that’s just as damaging to the movement as a whole.

My heart says, I don’t care–they love me. All of me.

It isn’t our job to educate people about our sexual orientation.
It isn’t our job to avoid falling into stereotypes so that they might not categorize us.
It isn’t our job to make sure they know which terms are offensive to us and which aren’t.

But it also isn’t our job to categorize them and write them off as just being them.

If I went off on everyone who assumed that because I’m a bisexual woman I must either be hyper-sexual, confused, or “wishy-washy,” I would have almost no friends, but more importantly, the hope of a more perfect world would be lost.

How can we expect the world to change if no one–neither us nor them–accepts difference? How can we expect a more perfect world if we throw people away based on one part of their identity?

And by this, I mean
The I-love-you-but, We-don’t-condemn-but-we-don’t-condone identity
AND
The non-normative identity.

The judgment of God is upon us, and we must either learn to live together as brothers, or we’re all going to perish together as fools.

Leave a Reply

