CLOSETS (AGAIN!)

Dear heteronormative community,

This is hesitation. This is lowering myself to explain to you what you don’t understand.

Closets were created in the first garden and destroyed in the second one. Closets are lies. Closets are “No, I didn’t,” or “No, I’m not,” or “No, I would never.” Closets are created by an intense fear of telling the truth. Closets are created by your hatred; closets are created by your fear; closets are created by your ignorance.

Do you know that we are more likely than you to contemplate and commit suicide?
Do you know that we are more likely to experience violence in dating relationships than you are?
Do you know that we are more likely to be raped than you are?
Do you know that trans* people are more likely to be murdered than you are?
Do you know that trans* people of color are especially susceptible to violence and murder?

How can you, growing up with your privilege and comfort in your own sexuality and skin, ever say that we do not know our own selves better than you do?

How can you, growing up with your privilege and comfort in your own sexuality and skin, ever say that we are not brave and courageous for coming out?

My trans* friends sometimes have to take buddies to the bathroom because some of your heteronormative, cis-gender brothers and sisters threaten to do (and do) horrifying things to them.

I would have committed suicide if it had not been for the gay man at my church, the lesbian couple at my work, the ally at my university, my cousin and her wife, my trans* friends, my genderqueer friends, and my genderfluid friends. Not you.

Please understand that your lack of understanding is killing us.

Next time you want to spew venom out toward us the next time our visibility interrupts your perfect world, please remember you are creating hell on Earth.

Sincerely,

Stephanie
(I represent myself, not the entire LGBTQIA community [contrary to popular opinion]. Thanks.)

Leave a Reply

