The Family: Episode One

Every so often, I remember my family, and I remember the way I felt when I believed the same things as everybody else. Then I get sad, and Granddad gets sad because my heart no longer recognizes him.

Typical day:

Mom: “Mars, how was Clinic today?”
Me: shrugging shoulders “It was alright, I guess.”
Dad: eating prepared meal “What did you learn?”
Me: “Same thing.” eating prepared meal “Respect. Remember. Return.”
Mom: smiling, eating prepared meal “I like the first one the best.”
Dad: shaking his head “My favorite is remember.”

//No one’s favorite is return.//

Me: eating prepared meal “I don’t really have a favorite.”

//At this point, let me interrupt myself to say that I know this will cause an argument.//

Mom: looking down at prepared meal “Why is that?”
Me: shrugging “I don’t know.”
Dad: “Clinic has been a part of our family for generations. It’s what’s kept our family alive for all these years. It’s what keeps Granddad alive.”
Me: “Do you ever talk to Granddad?”
Mom: quizzical look “What is that supposed to mean? Of course we talk to Granddad, all the time.”
Me: shaking head, eating prepared meal “No you don’t. You talk at Granddad. He can’t get a word in.”

//Granddad is rumored to be as old as The Face of Boe, whoever that is. It’s one of those sayings that’s stuck around for years, but nobody knows what it means. He’s really old, but his mind is still sharp.//

Mom: lips tightening “Do not talk //The word “talk,” here, is short and snippy.// to me that way.”
Me: sighing
Dad: “Go to your room and think about what you’ve done. But take your prepared meal with you.”

There are other types of typical days, but this is the most typical.

Leave a Reply

