To the person that defamed the memorial pride flag

You left three colors: red, yellow, and blue. I don’t know why. I’m not sure anyone does, but I’m not so well connected to them to know.

10527870_661673423939788_8100516725672407101_n
(Google Images)

I won’t use the term “we,” because I did not participate in the restoration of the display.
I won’t use the term “we,” because I didn’t hand out doughnuts to diffuse the irreverence you exhibited.
I won’t use the term “we,” because I am scared to use the term “we,” because that makes me fully associated with them.

I am not fully associated with them, because I know they can hate, too.

I know that many students were afraid to exit their dorm rooms. You made them afraid for their lives. They know what happened to their siblings that went before them. They know the sacrifices made for them. They know the world has changed since then, but they know that it also hasn’t changed since then.

You left three colors: red, yellow, and blue. I don’t know why.

Will you sit down with me? Will you look at me and ask me your questions and hear the softness in my voice which tells you that I still believe you to be worthy of recognition as a being to be respected, regardless of your intentions behind your actions?

I am not fully associated with them, because many of them think this is groveling.

This is not groveling; this is subversive.

Malcolm X was famous for his “by any means necessary” approach. Make them afraid of Us. Make them afraid to hurt Us. Flip the script; flip the tables; make them afraid of Us.

Malcolm X returned from Mecca an advocate for non-violence and racial unity.

I understand you. I used to be you. Rainbows were an offense to me; an ill-scented offering wafting up to my nostrils. But this memorial — of all the lives lost to suicide and homophobic violence — is not even about pride. It is about remembrance and resilience; it is about suicide and survival; it is about violence and love.

And pride — pride isn’t even about pride. It is not just a statement to the society which tells us, “You are nothing!” that we are something! It is a statement to our very selves which tell us, “You are nothing!” that, by God, we are something!

To the person that defamed the memorial pride flags today,

talk to us. Ask us why those flags are there. Ask us where our hearts hurt. Tell us why you feel the way you do. Treat us like people; expect us to treat you like a person.

Of all the wonderful ways we can waste the winding number of breaths we can take,

please

speak to us.

Leave a Reply

