What if Jonah was cast out to Tarshish?

It is only in my head

that I know when my

dry bones cry out

You hear me.
It is only in my head

that I know when my

demons slip inside my veins

You can feel my fear.
I have lived in isolation

for over a year, now.

In this year I have known

what it was

to be unknown, I have known

what it was to be

invisible.
At first I fought it. Tried

to tell my story, ended

up airing their dirty laundry, and

probably mine in the process; I fear–

I feared they would forget me.
They forgot me

until Orlando; then

all but one forgot me,

and even she used me

as the token queer,

assuaging her straight guilt.
David frequently asked You,

“Rain down fire from heaven

on the heads of my enemies!”
Well I don’t have the luxury of wishing

my enemies were dead; no,

I want them alive

I want them all to thrive

with me.
I want them to thrive with me, see
I don’t want them harmed,

I just want them, I just want

to eat supper with them, I just want

to play music with them.
Maybe my biological family

hasn’t treated me differently, but

I sure as Sheol have been abandoned.
They call us militants, but

children acting out are never called that.

No, I don’t want them dead.
I just want them back.

Leave a Reply

